World Youth Day

World Youth Day (WYD) was created by St. John Paul II in 1985 to capture the spirit of the young people and to inspire them to live the teachings of Christ. Since then, every two to four years, an international gathering is held to bring all the youth and young adults together in one place with the Holy Father. It is a life-changing opportunity to gather, to journey together in pilgrimage, and to experience the universal Church through prayer, catechesis, celebration, and personal encounter. The most recent WYD was celebrated in Panamá in 2019 and the next World Youth Day will be held in Lisbon, Portugal in August 2023.  

Are you ready for an adventure?

You are invited to participate in World Youth Day 2023 in Lisbon, Portugal with the Salesian Sisters of St. John Bosco and the Diocese of Colorado Springs. The official WYD dates will be August 1- 6, 2023, but our trip will include a few days before and after for travel and bonus excursions.  Your pilgrim package includes complete World Youth Day access, meals, ground transportation, hotel accommodations, and travel insurance. You may choose to purchase your airfare through our group travel package or individually.  To participate with our group, you must be a US citizen and have a current passport. 

To learn more, please register for one of our upcoming WYD info sessions on Zoom:

  • February 23 at 8pm CST (7pm MST/ 6pm PST) 
  • March 19 at 4pm CST (3pm MST/ 2pm PST)

After you register, a Zoom link will be emailed to you. 

WYD 2023

Note: WYD is geared towards young adults ages 18+ who would like to take part in a joyful encounter centered on Jesus Christ together with the young Church throughout the world! The young at heart may participate too, and youth under the age of 18 may come with a legal chaperone.  

For more information, contact Sr. Linda Gonzalez at lgonzalez@diocs.org or 719-866-6448

20160728t1438 0778 Cns Pope Poland Wyd Welcome
24 Panama Festa 01
Foro Mjs 600x450
World Youth Day 3
WYD 1

At WYD Lisbon 2023, we will also participate in the Salesian Youth Movement Day on August 2nd. It will be attended by the Rector Major, Fr. Ángel Fernández Artime, and Sr, Chiara Cazzuola, who will participate for the first time as Mother General of the Daughters of Mary Help of Christians.

Above is a photo from our participation in the 2019 SYM Day in Panama with Mother Yvonne.

50889854 10156703479755865 8994338039597629440 N
51214639 10156473536996284 5132581486037303296 N
51421368 2963113403702531 1198734121161981952 N